Learning to Teach With Technology

Experiencing technology for the first time!

To Flip Or Not To Flip?

on July 2, 2013

I read a blog post on Edudemic titled To Flip Or Not To Flip? written by Jeff Dunn. I thought this was a quick, easy read encompassing a teachers opinion on flipping their classroom. I agree that it would be a neat idea to try. I will also admit that I am nervous of the outcome. However, I am excited to learn how to create a flipped lesson in my technology class. One line that grabbed my attention in this blog post was:

“They’re teaching one another instead of me having to do the majority of instruction, and I am now there to immediately catch a misconception rather than have a student go home and reinforce that mistake.”

 

I think this is a wonderful piece to the flipped classroom. The fact that the teacher can present the information in a way that is understandable to a student and then have those students teaching one another and leading discussions about the information. The teacher is able to listen to all students at once. To reiterate the point Mr. Dunn made, the teacher can listen for comprehension and then redirect or correct the misconceptions before the student reinforces the mistakes independently. That is awesome. 

Leave a Reply

